Presidents Newsletter – May 2019

Here we are at the end of April and entering May.  REALLY MOTHER NATURE!!! Snow the last weekend of April; do you realize in less than 2 months the days are going to start getting shorter?  I am hoping that we will get our weather cycle back to “normal” for the rest of 2019.

Our Spring Meeting and Awards Banquet along with Memorial Service were hosted by Waubeka Fire Department at The Five Pillars.  The day started out with an awesome rendition of the National Anthem by members of the Northern Ozaukee High School Choir. Preceding the banquet and awards we had a very meaningful memorial service with assistance from Chaplain Jim Langford, Piper/Singer Gina Crossley and trumpeter Molly Kirmse.  These events do not happen without a lot of people involved. Waubeka Fire was a very gracious host that rose to every challenge.

As part of the spring meeting and awards banquet our association took the time to recognize some outstanding individuals.  First we want to acknowledge those people that have dedicated 50 years of their lives serving their community; those being:

ADRIAN KREBS; St. Lawrence Fire Company              

DAVID SCHELLHAAS; Campbellsport Fire Department

HARRY MICHELS; Waubeka Fire Department

KENNETH REISER; Slinger Fire Department

KEN RAMTHUN; Boltonville Fire Department       

ROBERT BECHER; Cascade Fire Department

DAVID HAMANN; Cedarburg Fire Department

ALVIN GIESE; Grafton Fire Department

SYLVESTER ‘SKEE” KRAHN; Beechwood Fire Department

Every year we have asked departments to nominate those that have made a significant impact on their department and/or emergency services.  This year we had the opportunity to honor three individuals that truly have made a difference. They were most significant ones the Awards Committee looked at to receive the Meritorious Service Awards.  The choices were not easy but was justifiable, those selected were:

Tracy Steinert of Fillmore Fire Department for the Emergency Medical Services Meritorious Service

Bernie Wolf of Allenton Fire Department was a co-recipient of the Firefighter Meritorious Service along with James Baus of the City of Hartford Fire-Rescue

Very uniquely this year we had two incidents nominated for 2019 Heroism Awards from the same department, Cedarburg Fire Department.  Those honored were:

Chad Call and Scott Matuseswic [Deputy Chief with the Cedarburg Fire Department] co-workers at Bayside Department of Public Works, they had to initiated CPR and used an AED to save a fellow workers life.

The other incident involved saving two people that were caught in swift moving water in a flooded Cedar Creek by the mother, Maureen Hackett and her son, Sampson in late August.

Billy TeachingOn Saturday, April 27th, our association along with Eastern Wisconsin and Dodge County Firefighters Association have hosted a very unique learning opportunity with Chief Billy Goldfeder at the West Bend Mutual Insurance Prairie Center.  We are very grateful to our sponsors: Air One Equipment, Property Loss Management, Professional Fire Fighters of Wisconsin-Charitable Foundation, North Star Emergency Vehicle Services, Arndt Advertising, and Rennert’s  Fire Equipment.

Chief Goldfeder presented through video, audio and “WAKE UP” lecture, an in-depth program featuring specific and very recent fire ground events with a strong focus on dwelling & small commercial structure fires-that ended with tragic results. The program focused specifically on the lessons learned so that these incidents (and those involved) don’t ever become forgotten.

As we close out the school year for our youth, let us all be vigilant in being aware at all times while at play, at work or driving.  We will see kids playing along the roadways and walking and bicycling on the roadways.

Similar Posts